Photography   Leave a comment

I took Digital Photography and Printing this past semester with the awesome Michael Grillo. I took an art history class with Grillo my freshman year, and several others since then, and they’ve been some of the most interesting classes I’ve ever had. We look at the pieces of art and craft in the context of the culture that created them – their place in their audience’s lives, their aesthetic style and visual language, the cultural values they conveyed, the obvious and the more subtle messages they tried to impart – which is all a heck of a lot more interesting than memorizing “Title/Artist/Date/Medium/Style.” He’s also a exhibiting photographer, and I spent last semester trying to take some of what he had to teach about photography and improve my own skills. I made some progress in learning to capture the kind of images that are worth looking at, and I learned a lot about thinking like a photographer. I also bought an awesome new camera and started shooting in RAW.

Here are the images I shot over the course of the class.

___

___

___

___

___

___

___

___

___

___

___

___

___

___

___

Posted January 21, 2011 by benjaminsapiens in art, photography, school

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

