Graduation   1 comment

I started at UMaine in the fall of 2007, which means that I’m a member of the class of 2011. This means that I should be graduating in May. My plans have changed a little, however. As I was signing up for this semesters classes this past fall, I realized that I wasn’t going to have enough credits to graduate this spring as planned. I’ve been working on my BFA (Bachelor’s of Fine Arts) degree in Studio Art, which is the professional version of the regular bachelor’s degree in Studio Art. The only difference is that you have to take a bunch more upper level studio courses for the BFA. Both the BA and BFA are meant to be earned in four years; however, I’ve been taking French classes, which displaced the art classes I would have been taking otherwise. I could have graduated this spring with a BA, but I decided to keep going and get the full BFA. To get that, I’ll need to take six art classes after this semester is over. I’ll be taking classes part-time, two art classes each semester, for three semesters, and I’ll be graduating in December 2012.

I’m actually looking forward to doing this. There are still a lot more art class I want to take before I leave, and I’ll be able to take six of them without any other classes to worry about. The only downside is that my Top Scholar Award that I received as a senior in high school (which pays all my tuition, leaving me to only pay for fees, supplies and room & board) runs out after four years, so I’ll have to start paying for the classes I take. I’ll be living at home, so that will cut down on some of the cost, and it looks like I’ll be able to keep my job at the USDA lab as long as I’m enrolled at the University. Unfortunately, most of my friends will have graduated and will be gone after this semester. Matt just got accepted to UMaine in the fall for Engineering (with the Top Scholar free ride, too – well done!), so I’ll be going to the same school as my brother for the first time since fifth grade.

I’ve been in the Honors program for the past four years, and I’m currently working on my Honors thesis, so hopefully I’ll be graduating with Honors under my belt as well. My thesis project is going to be a series of large illustrations of sci-fi literature. I’m taking an independent study art class with Michael Lewis where I’ll work on creating the illustrations. I did a few of these in high school, and I’d like to go back and revisit this theme now that I’m (hopefully) quite a bit more artistically mature. I’ll be defending my thesis at the end of the semester.

In addition to my BFA in Studio Art and my Honors degree, I plan on getting minors in Art History and French. I’ve taken enough of these classes already that I only need to take one more of each to get a minor, so I thought, “Why not?”

The one thing I’m not sure of is what class am I now a member of? I started out in the class of ’11, and I’ll have done a full four semesters with them, and I was even in the Class of 2011 Senior Capstone Exhibition last semester, but I’ll be graduating in December 2012. Does that mean I’ll be in the class of ’12 now? Will I be, say, an über-senior next semester?

Or "Maine 2012," maybe?

Posted February 10, 2011 by benjaminsapiens in art, personal, school

One response to “Graduation

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pingback: End of the semester « Ben Richard's Blog

Leave a Reply

