Bald   1 comment

Well, like I promised, I got my head shaved this past Wednesday. So I’m bald now. Actually, for the sake of safety and quickness, they only shaved people down to 1/8 in, and it’s started to grow back in pretty quickly, but I’m still pretty close to being authentically bald. I managed to raise $85, so thanks a bunch to everyone who donated. If you’d still like to give something, you can still head over to my profile and make a donation even though it’s after the event.

The even was a great success all the way around. All in all, we raised $14,363 for research toward a cure for childhood caner, and over 100 people got shaved over the course of four hours. The weather was looking a bit iffy on Wednesday (although the rain did end up holding off for us) so our venue was moved from the riverbank next to the Steam Plant to the Field House. With the overcast skies and the BBQ being held indoors instead of outside and the field games taking place on the other side of campus, I’d thought we’d have had trouble holding a crowd for the whole four hours, but we had a very respectable audience right until the end. I brought in the Shop-Vac from home to clean up all the cut hair, and the thing was complete filled twice with all the hair. Have you ever seen an 8-gallon tank stuffed to the brim with human hair? It was one of the grossest things I have ever seen in my life. Clumps of cut hair sitting on the floor of a barbershop? Messy, but not at all disgusting. Pounds of severed hair mashed together into a giant hairball? Pretty unnerving. Seriously, though, it was really cool to watch person after person get up on stage and get bald, especially when the ladies did it (we had at least a dozen or so of them get shaved). When we first started planning this event, our fundraising goal was $2,000. In March, we’d already surpassed that, and we increased our goal to $5,000, and then to $7,500, and then to $10,000, and by the end of the big day we’d made over $14,000. Not too bad, I’d say. Thanks to everyone who helped make this possible.

There are a few more of my photos from the event here. There’s also a video of one of the girls getting her head shaved, reports by WLBZ 2 and WABI TV 5.

Getting shaved

Money raised

This, by the way, is the shortest I’ve ever had my hair, ever. Even when I was first born I had a nice head of hair, so this is quite a departure. Maybe I’ll keep it short this summer? Or grow it back out again? We’ll see.

One response to “Bald

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pingback: St. Baldrick’s again « Benjamin Sapiens: Ben Richard's Blog

Leave a Reply

